Dust Yourself Off!

Sit….Crawl….Stand….Walk…….Have you ever seen a baby go from laying on it’s back, kicking around one day to running around the house the next day?  No!  Of course you haven’t!  There are stages in the process.  They have to build the muscles and learn control to be able to sit and then they’ll learn to crawl.  From there, it’s likely they’ll learn to stand and onstagesly then can they walk.  But, if they never learn to stand, they won’t be able to walk.  There’s an order…steps…and during those steps, they’re going to fall down over and over and over again.  But, guess what?  That baby gets back up and keeps trying until one day they are running through the house.

What makes you think that you don’t have to follow a process too?  Just like a baby can’t walk before it stands…you have to have 1 good meal before you can have a good food day.  And you need to take 1 step before you walk a mile.  And, you need to lose 1 pound before you lose 50.  You need to drink 1 glass of water before you drink a gallon.  If you don’t do that 1st piece, you cannot achieve the rest.  PERIOD!

Just like a baby has to build it’s muscles and learn to control them, you need to start at the beginning too!  Start with baby steps and easy changes.  Use this to flex your willpower muscles and learn to strengthen them.  Only then will it become second nature to decline that brownie or grab for the veggies and a glass of water when you need a snack.  b2e57043a9b7f23aecdd1d0a20626e66

Don’t get discouraged if you’ve never exercised before.  Don’t get discouraged if you’ve never followed a meal plan or taken supplements or counted calories or even considered getting healthy.  Don’t get discouraged if you fall along the way.  In fact, expect it!  I’ve never met anyone who hasn’t had to try and try again to get to their goals.  I’ve never met anyone who didn’t want to give up somewhere along the fede5156b26f19cfd535f9f1066a80f0way.  But, guess what…that doesn’t meant it’s impossible.  It means it’ll be hard….it’s going to be one of the hardest things you’ve ever done in your entire life.  You’re going to cuss and scream and cry and wonder why the hell you’re subjecting yourself to this instead of just eating that cake.  Or, adding bacon and extra cheese to your burger.  Why are you skipping out on the milkshake?  I’ll tell you why.  Because being fat is hard.  Being unhealthy is hard.  Feeling awful is hard.  Know what else is hard?  Working out is hard.  Being disciplined is hard.  Saying no to the junk is hard.  But, in the end, it’s worth it.  No one will ever tell you it’s going to be easy.  If they do, they’re lying and they’ve clearly forgotten what it was like when they started their own journey.  But, don’t let the struggle stop you.  It’s going to be hard either way….choose your hard!

Take that first step…go for a walk around the block.  Drink that glass of water.  Substitute that vegetable for bread at dinner.  You have to start before you can reach your goal.  No step is too small.  The most important thing to remember though is that no matter how hard it gets and no matter how many times you fall, you have to dust yourself off and keep going.  I have started over so many times, I’ve lost count!  About 14 years ago was the the first time I remember really focusing on weight loss.  I started on the Weight Watchers program.  I lost a little bit and then I quit, gained it all back and then some.  Then, I participated in little work groups and challenges, joined a kickboxing gym, did well and quit.  Gained it all back and then some.  Then, onto LA Weightloss and Curves and Weight Watchers two more times.  Beachbody, Advocare, you name it, I’ve probably tried it.  Meal plans and shakes and bars and gimmick after gimmick.  I’d lose a little, fall off and gain it all back and then some.  Then, I went to Structure House…lost 120 lbs and was doing really well!  I went through some major life changes….within a period of 3 months, I went to Structure House, lost 32 lbs that month, filed for divorce, closed my business, moved 1000 miles to a part of the country I had never been until the day I moved and started a new job where I knew no one.  I packed only what could fit in my car and started over.  And, guess what happened….settling into my new life, I gained a few pounds back.  But, something was different this time….I caught it, I recognized that I was backsliding and I got back on track.

I’m back to tracking 10885482_903847456314979_1195533989406692600_nmy food and working out and taking supplements (I’ll be posting soon about the vitamins, etc that I take each day and why and how they make me feel) and making sure I’m as healthy as I can be…the weight loss is a side effect.  Just like when you learn to walk, you no longer think about it—you focus on getting from point A to point B and it just happens.  Now, I focus on being healthy and the weight loss will come.  I’m nowhere near done on this journey but I know what needs to be done and I’ve never given up.  Don’t be afraid of failure.  You only fail when you give up completely.  As long as you keep trying, you’re doing it!  And, when you get it and it clicks and you have that success…..spread those wings baby because there’s no stopping you in flight!

Stop the excuses.  Stop saying “I can’t”.  Stop saying you don’t know where to begin.  Stop saying you’re afraid to fail.  Just figure it out!  There are so many resources and so much information out there that it can be overwhelming to find your direction.  There’s no one answer that’s right for everyone.  I always tell people…you have to do what’s right for you.  And, what’s right for you is whatever you can stick with.  It doesn’t matter if you have a world class workout program if you can’t stick to it.  But, if you have a simple food plan that works for you, run with it!  I’m here as a resource and can help you find your direction—just comment or send me a private email, if you prefer, itsyourlossblog@gmail.com and I’d be happy to help you get started.  Don’t put limitations on yourself.  Get over that mental hurdle, strap on your ass-kickin’ shoes and handle it.  And, when (not if) you fall, dust yourself off and keep going!!!

Leave a Reply

